The Garden Forums

Dig In!
It is currently Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:50 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Hippeastrum
PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:41 pm 

I am new to TGF and would like to take this opportunity to say 'hi' to everybody. I am a hobby gardener. My interests are basically bulbous plants and orchids and I maintain large collections of plants. I live in Hong Kong but my interests in plants have taken me to Africa and South America. To me, it is essential to learn how plant species adapt to the natural environment and how the natural habitats look like.

I attach below pictures of Hippeastrum neopardinum and Hippeastrum breviflorum (Clone 1) . Hippeastrum breviflorum is an aquatic species which enjoys warm sunny weather. Hippeastrum neopardinum is often considered identical to H. pardinum. It is native to intermontane valleys in Peru. The Hippeastrum breviflorum is raised from seed collected in southern Paraguay but the species is also native to swampy areas along water courses in NE Argentina and Brasil. The species is quite variable in colouration which ranges from pink with feathery lining, salmon pink, reddish/orange to almost creamy white.

Attachments:
Hippeastrum neopardinum.jpg
Hippeastrum neopardinum.jpg [ 45.46 KiB | Viewed 7309 times ]
Hippeastrum breviflorum Clone 1.jpg
Hippeastrum breviflorum Clone 1.jpg [ 74.99 KiB | Viewed 4413 times ]

Post subject: Re: Hippeastrum
PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:05 pm 

Welcome to the forums, Luar! Thanks for introducing me to Hippeastrum. Sounds like you have had some amazing journeys when researching plants. I can't wait to hear more.

Foxy.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:49 pm 

Hi Luar:

Welcome to this forums. Your Hippeastrums are beautiful, wonderful habitat information!

There's a few persons quite dedicated to bulbs, I am sure you will have fun here. It sounds you have nice collections, we look forward more pics from you and wish you can share more of your knowledge with us in future.