The Garden Forums

<  Composting, Mulch, and Soils  ~  Compost Tea.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:21 am
User avatarJoined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 9:14 amPosts: 106Location: Ontario
I am a newbie to this forum, but I see no reference to Compost Tea, strange?
Does anyone here have anything to do with Compost Tea?
I have questions?

Offline Profile
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 11:44 am
User avatarJoined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:43 amPosts: 284Location: Zone 5B Pennsylvania
I am not a believer in compost tea. I figure, why leach some of the goodies from the compost when that compost will be put in the beds where the veggies grow. :roll: I think MN and the worms will do a better job than I would. :wink:

John

My Web Page: http://www.jbest123.com
Offline Profile
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:35 pm
User avatarJoined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 11:37 amPosts: 912Location: Zone 6/7, Culpeper, VA
I agree. I used to make & use it years ago before I really got into making lots of regular compost, & found it to be a smelly, messy, unpleasant method of applying the exact same nutrients that earthy, easy-to-use, pleasant compost does.

No more compost tea for me!

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 1:20 pm
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 10:08 pmPosts: 187Location: Zone 5
Hi Beeman,

I see you've posted in the Vermiculture forum, too, where there are a number of archived discussions and related posts on using teas. Maybe do a search on avct, which is what most vermiculturists who make the tea prefer.

I've never done it myself, but you'd pick up some info there and most certainly be able to ask questions. Well, correction, I have done the stinky method, but agree with the other responses here - not much point.

However, claims are being made that the avct method is very good, something to do with the ability to substantially increase the microbe level over and above the normal microbe levels in castings and compost. No stink, either, because of the use of aerators. You should find it an interesting read.