The Garden Forums

Dig In!
It is currently Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:21 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: A Cooperative Hummingbird
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 11:43 am 
Administrator

The other day I had this Broad Billed Hummingbird pose for a few shots. Lots of color they have.
Attachment:
2009-12-22-lux2 140mod.JPG
2009-12-22-lux2 140mod.JPG [ 1.39 MiB | Viewed 527 times ]
Attachment:
2009-12-22-lux2 133mod.JPG
2009-12-22-lux2 133mod.JPG [ 598.88 KiB | Viewed 529 times ]

Happy New Year,
AZED

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 3:24 pm 

Great shots Ed. I have yet to capture a hummer on film. I should have a camera with me right now with all the bird activity going on. There are robins, jays, chicadees, starlings, a flicker or 2 and some other small song birds. They must be hungry after the snow buried their food sources for a couple of days.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:52 am 
Administrator

luv,
I have been shooting birds since 1980 when I really did use film. I sloshed around the salt and mud flats of San Francisco Bay in search of cooperative shore birds. Back then it usually took 100 or more unacceptable shots to get one good one. It is much easier today.
All those birds you listed should be very easy to image unless your Flickers are as jumpy as the Guilded Flicker is in the desert.
Here is a Cactus Wren posing. They usually are not especially jumpy as long as you don't stare at them. We have one in the backyard that shares the seeds with the Finches, Doves and House Wrens.
Each species gives opportunities for pictures if you learn their behaviors.
Attachment:
Project3.jpg
Project3.jpg [ 186.27 KiB | Viewed 525 times ]