The Garden Forums

Dig In!
It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:18 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: overwintered annuals
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:21 pm 

After three days of snow I'm a little tired of winter and am looking forward to spring. I took pity on the coleus cuttings that have been sitting on the windowsill since October. After 4 months in a drinking glass they can use a change of scenery.

Unfortunately they don't look a whole lot better in dirt, but between the stronger light and longer days they should pick up quick now.

I've been overwintering these same four coleus for a couple years now and by May I should have a couple dozen plants and cuttings, enough to fill bare spots and give away come springtime. The dark leaved one always does real good, unless its crowded out by butterfly weed and pineapple sage such as this end of the year mess. LOL

Anyone else overwinter garden plants indoors? I used to save more, but someone in the house doesn't want a whole lot of messy plants all over the windowsills. What's up with that?

Post subject: Re: overwintered annuals
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 1:55 pm 

What!? Someone in your house doesn't appreciate your efforts to carry the plants on through the winter? :wink:

I keep intending to keep some plants over, but it seems my plans always get changed. I took some rose cuttings last fall and brought them in when we had a cold snap, but they didn't appreciate it and died. They had rooted, though. Maybe I'll try again.

It looks like a nice activity to do while you have a snowy landscape.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:06 pm 

Oh Nice!
I like all the different coleus colours you saved and that you included the chartreuse. I once worked for a grower who thought that name meant a hot ink rather than the lime green that it is and we ha d a heck of a lot of it and it sold very slowly.