It is currently Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:36 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Penstemons
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:58 am 

some resources:
Professor Andrea D.Wolfe's Penstemon site:
http://www.biosci.ohio-state.edu/~awolfe/Penstemon/Penstemon.html

a couple of seed sources:http://www.plantsofthesouthwest.com/
Granite Seed Company-but I'll also have to refer to one of their earlier catalogs(as P.ambiguus isn't listed in their current catalog). For examples:soil texture;soil pH ratings;plant communities;distribution;annual precipitation, elevation guidelines...

... experiences growing P.ambiguus from seed...I wasn't quite satisfied with native plant nurseries' cultural approaches with regard to this species, so I studied small populations of P.ambiguus out in the desert before attemping to grow from self collected seed...
I was also influenced by a (1992) Proceedings Publication article written by Carol Miller and Mark Holden:Propagating Desert Plants...available online....

Last edited by pickwick on Sun Feb 04, 2007 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 3:36 pm 

We grew penstemon from seed for the first time last year. Wow! I wasn't sure about where they would do best so I planted them in about a dozen different places around the yard. They did well everywhere I put them. A few got virtually lost among the other plants around them until fall. As the others faded, the penstemon gave these gorgeous, delicate touches of color to the bed. We have cardwellii. After having such a good experience with our first lot and going to the OSU website, I am now eager to try more varieties. Thank you so much.

In December, they were the only green thing left in some of the beds. Are they perennial? Will they re-seed themselves?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 4:04 pm